By Dr. Hazlee Azil Illias (University of Malaya)

IEEE DEIS Malaysia Chapter 2017 AGM attendees

The 2017 Annual General Meeting (AGM) of IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society (DEIS) Malaysia Chapter was successfully held on 12th January 2017 in Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), Selangor, Malaysia.

The meeting was attended by active members of IEEE DEIS Malaysia Chapter and chaired by Chapter Vice Chair, Associate Professor Ir. Dr. Mohd Kamarol Mohd Jamil. The meeting began with an opening remark by the meeting chair, followed by presentation of Chapter annual report, website, Treasurer’s report and account, endorsement of 2016 AGM minutes, dissolution of 2016 committee and the election of 2017 committee.

The elected IEEE DEIS Malaysia Chapter committee members for 2017 are as follows:
Chair: Dr. Lau Kwan Yiew
Vice Chair: Assoc. Prof. Ir. Dr. Mohd Kamarol Mohd Jamil
Secretary: Dr. Hazlee Azil Illias
Treasurer: Dr. Nor Asiah Muhammad
Executive Committee:
Dr. Zulkarnain Ahmad Noorden (Chapter activities)
Dr. Mohd Hafizi Ahmad (Chapter activities)
Dr. Norhafiz Azis (Industrial relation)
Dr. Muzamir Isa (Industrial relation)
Dr. Amir Izzani Mohamed (Publicity and promotion)
Dr. Hidayat Zainuddin (Publicity and promotion)
Dr. Md Nor Ramdon Baharom
Dr. Yanuar Zulardiansyah Arief

The meeting was continued with the appointment of an auditor, address by 2017 Chapter Chair and discussion on activity plans for 2017. Among proposed activities are journal writing workshop, Professional Engineer workshop for academicians, high voltage conference, membership drive, Distinguished Lecturer Program (DLP), dielectric-related workshop/tutorial, industrial talks and industrial visits.