By Dr. Hazlee Azil Illias (University of Malaya)

IEEE DEIS Malaysia Chapter Members

The 2019 Annual General Meeting (AGM) of IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society (DEIS) Malaysia Chapter was successfully held on 19th January 2019 at Dorsett, Putrajaya, Malaysia.

The meeting was attended by active members of IEEE DEIS Malaysia Chapter. The meeting began with a welcoming address by the 2018 Chapter Chair, endorsement of 2018 AGM’s meeting minutes, 2018 Chapter activities report, 2018 Chapter account report, dissolution of 2018 committee members and election of 2019 committee members.

The elected IEEE DEIS Malaysia Chapter committee members for 2019 are as follows:
Past Chair: Ir. Dr. Lau Kwan Yiew
Chair: Associate Professor Ir. Dr. Mohamad Kamarol Mohd Jamil
Vice Chair: Ir. Dr. Nor Asiah Muhamad
Secretary: Associate Professor Ir. Dr. Hazlee Azil Illias
Treasurer: Dr. Amir Izzani Mohamed
Executive Committee:
Associate Professor Dr. Hidayat Zainuddin
Associate Professor Ts. Dr. Muzamir Isa
Associate Professor Dr. Azrul Mohd Ariffin
Associate Professor Dr. Mohd Taufiq Ishak
Dr. Norhafiz Azis

The meeting was continued with the appointment of 2019 auditors, address by the 2019 Chapter Chair and finally, a brief discussion on activity plans in 2019. The planned activities are journal writing workshop, membership drive, dielectric tutorial, industrial talk and industrial visit.